Instructor Courses


Western PaddleSports is a National Training Provider for Australian Canoeing in WA. We have been training and assessing candidates to the Australian Canoeing Award Scheme level for several years. It is an important part of our focus. We provide an environment that can train you to the national standard, and provide a mentoring environment in which you can work with experienced instructors as you gain experience.

Those who successfully complete Award Scheme courses achieve nationally recognised awards. Units of competency achieved may also count towards other outdoor leadership qualifications.

More information on the award scheme can be found under Awards & Services. Western PaddleSports also acts as a professional body or association for those instructors who wish to join our program.

The New Award Scheme (ACAS)

australian-canoeingWhat you achieve with an ACAS Award

Those who successfully complete Australian Canoeing Award Scheme (ACAS) courses and assessments achieve a nationally and internationally recognised qualification.  Australian Canoeing (AC) are the peak body for canoeing in Australia and are affiliated with other similar organisations world-wide.

The new Award Scheme

In 2002 the ACAS made the transition from the previous  generic scheme to a system based on units of competency from the VET Scheme, and this continued until recently when it was decided the VET Scheme has simply become too cumbersome and unsuited to the on-going requirements of training and qualifying paddling instructors.

The Award Scheme still retains parallels to the VET Scheme where appropriate, and it is still possible for candidates to obtain a Statement of Attainment for relevant units of competency where they may be working towards Certificates in Outdoor Recreation.  But by freeing itself from the restrictions of the VET Scheme Australian Canoeing is able to continue to develop and revise the award scheme as required to meet the needs of paddling leadership without being shackled by the increasing levels of bureaucracy now associated with the VET Scheme.

There are intermediate stages that are possible, but for practical purposes the working levels of the Award Scheme are either a Guide or Instructor award. Awards start at Level 1 for flatwater, and can be progressed to the advanced whitewater and sea kayak levels.

  • All Skills & Rescue Awards
  • All Guiding Awards including:
    • Level 1 Flat Water, (kayak & canoe)
    • Level 2 & 3 Whitewater
    • Level 2 & 3 Sea Kayak
    • Coastal Guide (Sit on top craft)
  • All Instructor Awards including:
    • Level 1 Flat Water (kayak and canoe)
    • Level 2 & 3 White Water Kayak
    • Level 2 & 3 Sea Kayak

Candidates who achieve competency also receive a Statement of Attainment covering the units achieved. Australian Canoeing manages the national instructor registration scheme. Those who achieve Guiding or Instructing Awards are required to submit evidence of currency of practice every three years in order to retain registration as an Australian Canoeing Guide or Instructor.

Course Duration and Fees according to requirements.

Please call to discuss on Mob: 0411 885 052